Emotional win for Perugia, second Italian Cup in a row for Lorenzo Bernardi’s team

Final Del Monte® Coppa Italia SuperLega
Sir Safety Conad Perugia – Cucine Lube Civitanova 3-2 (21-25, 21-25, 26-24, 25-23, 15-13)

Sir Safety Conad Perugia – Cucine Lube Civitanova 3-2 (21-25, 21-25, 26-24, 25-23, 15-13) – Sir Safety Conad Perugia: De Cecco 6, Lanza 12, Podrascanin 8, Atanasijevic 18, Leon Venero 26, Ricci 11, Piccinelli (L), Della Lunga 0, Colaci (L), Seif 0, Hoag 0, Galassi 0. N.E. Hoogendoorn. All. Bernardi. Cucine Lube Civitanova: Mossa De Rezende 2, Juantorena 17, Simon 8, Sokolov 25, Leal 13, Diamantini 8, Marchisio (L), Balaso (L), D’Hulst 0, Cantagalli 1, Kovar 0. N.E. Stankovic, Massari, Cester. All. De Giorgi. ARBITRI: Rapisarda, Puecher. NOTE – durata set: 27′, 28′, 37′, 32′, 19′; tot: 143′. Spettatori: 8.941. Incasso: 146.000 euro. Totale incasso evento: 288.000 euro. Del Monte® MVP: Leon.

Sir Safety Conad Perugia doubled the win of last season in Bari, and lifted for the second time in a row the Del Monte Italian Cup, in front of the 9000 enthusiastic fans at Unipol Arena in Casalecchio di Reno Bologna.

Lorenzo Bernardi’s team stunned Azimut Leo Shoes Modena in the Semifinal, it was more or less an easy one for the champs, but in the final it was a real battle versus fighting Cucine Lube Civitanova, who was in front 2-0 in the count of the set. At that moment, in the darkest hour for his team and for the hundreds fans arrived in Bologna from Perugia, Lorenzo Bernardi made his masterpiece. He kept calm the team, giving confidence to the players, without watching always the score, playing ball after ball, play after play, trying to follow the game plan and trying to execute and to adjust. Only a great coach can do this. Perugia fought back, resisting in third at the extras, riding a wonderful turn in the serve by Leon in fourth (perfect moment to call a time out for Bernardi, down 16-18), and keeping high the focus in the tie break, taking home the Cup 15-13 in the fifth.

1978/79 Panini Modena
1979/80 Panini Modena
1980/81 Edilcuoghi Sassuolo
1981/82 Santal Parma
1982/83 Santal Parma
1983/84 Bartolini Bologna
1984/85 Panini Modena
1985/86 Panini Modena
1986/87 Santal Parma
1987/88 Panini Modena
1988/89 Panini Modena
1989/90 Maxicono Parma
1990/91 Il Messaggero Ravenna
1991/92 Maxicono Parma
1992/93 Sisley Treviso
1993/94 Daytona Modena
1994/95 Daytona Las Modena
1995/96 Alpitour Traco Cuneo
1996/97 Las Daytona Modena
1997/98 Casa Modena Unibon
1998/99 Tnt Alpitour Cuneo
1999/00 Sisley Treviso
2000/01 Lube Banca Marche Macerata
2001/02 Noicom Brebanca Cuneo
2002/03 Lube Banca Marche Macerata
2003/04 Sisley Treviso
2004/05 Sisley Treviso
2005/06 Bre Banca Lannutti Cuneo
2006/07 Sisley Treviso
2007/08 Lube Banca Marche Macerata
2008/09 Lube Banca Marche Macerata
2009/10 Itas Diatec Trentino
2010/11 Bre Banca Lannutti Cuneo
2011/12 Itas Diatec Trentino
2012/13 Itas Diatec Trentino
2013/14 Copra Elior Piacenza
2014/15 Parmareggio Modena
2015/16 DHL Modena
2016/17 Cucine Lube Civitanova
2017/18 Sir Safety Conad Perugia
2018/19 Sir Safety Conad Perugia