Yes Sir, the Supercup is yours!

Cucine Lube Civitanova – Sir Safety Conad Perugia 1-3 (20-25, 25-22, 17-25, 26-28)

CUCINE LUBE CIVITANOVA: Sokolov 20, Candellaro, Sander 6, Juantorena 12, Stankovic 5, Kovar 6, Grebennikov (L), Christenson 3, Cester 8. Non entrati Marchisio, Casadei, Milan, Zhukouski. All. Medei.
SIR SAFETY CONAD PERUGIA: Shaw, Russell 21, Zaytsev 11, Della Lunga, Colaci (L), Atanasijevic 17, De Cecco 2, Anzani 12, Podrascanin 13. Non entrati Ricci, Cesarini, Siirila, Berger, Andric. All. Bernardi. ARBITRI: Boris, Sobrero. NOTE – Spettatori 4291, incasso 76343, durata set: 34′, 30′, 28′, 36′; tot: 128. Del Monte
® MVP Russell

In front of enthusiastic 4291 volleyball fans at Eurosuole Forum in Civitanova Marche, Sir Safety Conad Perugia finally lifted his first trophy in the history, the Del Monte Supercup 2017/2018 is for Lorenzo Bernardi’s team, after an emotional game versus home team Cucine Lube Civitanova.
The great shpow started after the italian anthem, with young 8 year old drummer Edoardo Lovatti played a great gig, before and during the introduction of the starting six of the two teams.

Cucine Lube Civitanova with Christenson-Sokolov, Juantorena-Kovar, Stankovic-Cester and libero Grebennikov, and Sir Safety Conad perugia with the classic De Cecco-Atanasijevic, Russel-Zaytsev, Anzani-Podrascanin and libero Colaci. A great start for Sir safety with inspired De Cecco and Zaytsev (2-6), Lube tried to come back until 7-9 with an ace of Cester, but suffering too much the serve of Perugia, who put the hands on the set at 23-17, winning 20-25. The second was a balanced one, until the tie at 19-19, where Lube stepped up with Kovar and Juantorena, winning the set 25-22 and tying the game with a great performance in attack (57%). In third Perugia found again a great rhythm, taking the lead on 10-5 and never look back until the final 25-17, with an enormous 79% in attack. Medei chosen Candellaro and Sander in place of Stankovic and Kovar to start the fourth set, with good results. Lube took the lead on 12-9 and on 19-15, with a couple of good plays by american Taylor Sander. It was a thrilling finale, with a set point for Lube killed by Perugia, and after three side out, Sir Safety Perugia took advantage fo a match point and closed the game on 28-26, winning their first trophy of their history.

The awards have been introduced by Lega Volley Ceo Massimo Righi, Lega Volley President Paola De Micheli, and Albino Massaccesi, vicepresident of Lega Volley, in a very suggestive ceremony.

Del Monte® MVP: Aaron Russell (Sir Safety Conad Perugia)

Giampaolo Medei (Cucine Lube Civitanova): “Also today we had a bad start, this is an aspect to considere and to improve in practice. Today Perugia was great, we always tried to react, and I liked it. We missed fo a little the tie break, because we fought back with heart, but they played better than us and they deserved this win. Kovar had a little muscular problem and I put him in the bench. We wanna win, we will, we need to reach our top condition”.

Dragan Stankovic (Cucine Lube Civitanova): “We expected this kind of complicated final. We had a good reaction in the fourth set, but we mad too many mistakes, and they were better than us in the serve, making us suffer in reception. Also last season we lost the Supercup, and we know how is finished the season, so let’s look to the future with confidence, together with our fans”.

Lorenzo Bernardi (Sir Safety Conad Perugia): “I’m veryhappy for the fans, the club, but above all the players, too many times in last season they suffered.I’m happy for them, they tasted the joy of the win, an unique joy!”.

Marko Podrascanin (Sir Safety Conad Perugia): “In last season I arrived in Perugia for this moment! In last season we lost two finals, we learned alot for those losses. On tonight we won versus a great team, we always believed in our win, also thanks to our fantastic fans. We can win again and again and again”.

Albo d’oro Supercoppa Italiana

1996 Alpitour Traco Cuneo

1997 Casa Modena Unibon

1998 Sisley Treviso

1999 TNT Alpitour Cuneo

2000 Sisley Treviso

2001 Sisley Treviso

2002 Noicom Brebanca Cuneo

2003 Sisley Treviso

2004 Sisley Treviso

2005 Sisley Treviso

2006 Lube Banca Marche Macerata

2007 Sisley Treviso

2008 Lube Banca Marche Macerata

2009 CoprAtlantide Piacenza

2010 Bre Banca Lannutti Cuneo

2011 Itas Diatec Trentino

2012 Cucine Lube Banca Marche Macerata

2013 Diatec Trentino

2014 Cucine Lube Banca Marche Treia

2015 DHL Modena

2016 Azimut Modena

2017 Sir Safety Conad Perugia