The Italian Volleyball Federation has announced the 30 eligible Italian players chosen by the technical commissioner of the Italian national team Ferdinando De Giorgi for the 2024 Volleyball Nations League.

Below are the athletes and their clubs and the complete program of the event, which this year will represent a key event of the season, considering the fact that the teams not yet qualified for Paris 2024 will compete for the last useful points in the world ranking for access the Olympic Games.

Italy currently occupies third position in the world ranking (342.43 points) and is the best-ranked national team among those not yet qualified for the five-ring event. The 5 places still available will be assigned based on the world ranking, examined on June 23rd at the end of the VNL group stage.

The Azzurri will make their debut in the Volleyball Nations League in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (22-26 May) where they will find Germany, Iran, Japan and the hosts Brazil on their path.

In the next stage they will be engaged in Ottawa, Canada (6-9 June) to face France, United States, Cuba and Holland.

In the third week of play, scheduled in Ljubljana, Slovenia (19-23 June), the men’s national team will take the field against: Poland, Bulgaria, Slovenia, and Turkey.

The Final 8 will be played in Lodz (Poland) from 27 to 30 June.

VNL 2024: i 30 azzurri divisi per ruolo

Setters: 2. Paolo Porro (Allianz Milano), 9. Marco Falaschi (Pallavolo Padova), 6. Simone Giannelli, capitano (Sir Susa Vim Perugia), 8. Riccardo Sbertoli (Itas Trentino).

Spikers: 26. Francesco Sani (Rana Verona), 5. Alessandro Michieletto (Itas Trentino), 3. Francesco Recine (Gas Sales Bluenergy Piacenza), 21. Davide Gardini (Pallavolo Padova), 12. Mattia Bottolo (Cucine Lube Civitanova), 15. Daniele Lavia (Itas Trentino), 20. Tommaso Rinaldi (Valsa Group Modena), 29. Giulio Magalini (Itas Trentino), 31. Luca Porro (Pallavolo Padova).

Middle Blockers: 13. Lorenzo Cortesia (Rana Verona), 14. Gianluca Galassi (Mint Vero Volley Monza), 17. Simone Anzani (Cucine Lube Civitanova), 19. Roberto Russo (Sir Susa Vim Perugia), 4. Marco Vitelli (Allianz Milano), 27. Edoardo Caneschi (Gas Sales Bluenergy Piacenza), 11. Giovanni Sanguinetti (Valsa Group Modena), 30. Leandro Mosca (Rana Verona), 10. Gabriele Di Martino (Mint Vero Volley Monza).

Opposites: 16. Yuri Romanò (Gas Sales Bluenergy Piacenza), 18. Fabrizio Gironi (Gas Sales Bluenergy Piacenza), 23. Alessandro Bovolenta (Consar Ravenna), 24. Lorenzo Sala (Gioiella Prisma Taranto).

Liberi: 7. Fabio Balaso (Cucine Lube Civitanova), 28. Gabriele Laurenzano (Itas Trentino), 25. Damiano Catania (Allianz Milano), 22. Marco Gaggini (Mint Vero Volley Monza).