Fourth Supercup for Modena

And Julio Velasco is back!

Back in Italy, at his first chance the argentinian coach clinched a win, conquering the Del Monte Supercup 2018/2019 with Azimut Leo Shoes Modena.

The Gialloblù defeated at tie break Itas Trentino after being trailed by 2 sets by Angelo Lorenzetti’s team, who showed a good level of shape.

Once again a great performance for The Zar, Ivan Zaytsev, 25 points in the end, finally back in his role at the opposite side, after two seasons as spiker in Perugia. The MVP award goes to american setter Micah Christenson, who was such a great playmaker for Modena all game long, also in the troubled moments in second and third set.

Despite the loss, Itas Trentino can smile anyway, they are back to the top level of italian volleyball, after the troubles of last season.

Fpor Azimut Leo Shoes Modena is the fourth Supercup of his history, another Trophy for the legendary team of Modena.

Final Del Monte® Supercoppa
Azimut Leo Shoes Modena – Itas Trentino 3-2 (25-23, 25-19, 16-25, 18-25, 15-8)

AZIMUT LEO SHOES MODENA – ITAS TRENTINO 3-2 (25-23, 25-19, 16-25, 18-25, 15-8) – AZIMUT LEO SHOES MODENA: Bednorz 11, Pierotti, Rossini (L), Zaytsev 25, Christenson 6, Holt 10, Anzani 5, Urnaut 10, Mazzone 2, Kaliberda 3. Non entrati Benvenuti, Van Der Ent, Pinali, Keemink. All. Velasco. ITAS TRENTINO: Russell 21, Van Garderen 2, Nelli, Cavuto, Vettori 12, Giannelli 7, Grebennikov (L), Candellaro 7, Codarin, Lisinac 10, Kovacevic 14. Non entrati Daldello, De Angelis. All. Lorenzetti. ARBITRI: Goitre, Simbari. NOTE – Spettatori 4050, incasso 64000, durata set: 32′, 25′, 25′, 25′, 17′; tot: 124′.

MVP: Christenson.

Albo d’oro Supercoppa Italiana
1996 Alpitour Traco Cuneo
1997 Casa Modena Unibon
1998 Sisley Treviso
1999 TNT Alpitour Cuneo
2000 Sisley Treviso
2001 Sisley Treviso
2002 Noicom Brebanca Cuneo
2003 Sisley Treviso
2004 Sisley Treviso
2005 Sisley Treviso
2006 Lube Banca Marche Macerata
2007 Sisley Treviso
2008 Lube Banca Marche Macerata
2009 CoprAtlantide Piacenza
2010 Bre Banca Lannutti Cuneo
2011 Itas Diatec Trentino
2012 Cucine Lube Banca Marche Macerata
2013 Diatec Trentino
2014 Cucine Lube Banca Marche Treia
2015 DHL Modena
2016 Azimut Modena
2017 Sir Safety Conad Perugia
2018 Azimut Leo Shoes Modena