It was a great Del Monte Supercup final at Eurosuole Forum in Civitanova, with a final tie break win by Sir Safety Conad Perugia over Leo Shoes Modena, in a very heartbeat game.
The first trophy of the season was lifted by Vital Heynen’s team after a long log battle, who saw some emotional ends of sets and a final heartbeat tie break. Once again the difference was made by Perugia with the fundamental of serve, especially in the fall tie break with Wilfredo Leon, MVP of the final with 21 points. It was a great game by both teams, also Modena fought hard until the end, remainin constantly into the game with a monumental Ivan Zaytsev, money in the bank from place two, putting on the groud 30 points, while american spiker Matthew Anderson got 22 points. Good game also for Daniele Mazzone with 11 points, while Bartosz Bednorz was in trouble, despite the great game in the semifinals.
In the end it was a great performance on the bench for brand new head coach world champion Vital Heynen, who handled with perfect timing and pace his team, with right substitutions at right moments, Always keeping the players as serene and quiet as possible.
The first trophy of the season goes to Perugia, looking forward next Lega Volley Italian Volleyball League event, in the early 2020 in Bologna with Del Monte Italian Cup.
Final Del Monte® Supercoppa 2019
Sir Safety Conad Perugia – Leo Shoes Modena 3-2 (27-25, 23-25, 25-23, 18-25, 15-12)
Sir Safety Conad Perugia – Leo Shoes Modena 3-2 (27-25, 23-25, 25-23, 18-25, 15-12) – Sir Safety Conad Perugia: De Cecco 0, Leon Venero 21, Ricci 9, Atanasijevic 18, Lanza 7, Podrascanin 9, Burnelli (L), Russo 1, Zhukouski 0, Colaci (L), Hoogendoorn 1, Taht 1, Plotnytskyi 3. N.E. Piccinelli. All. Heynen. Leo Shoes Modena: Christenson 2, Anderson 22, Mazzone 11, Zaytsev 30, Bednorz 11, Holt 8, Iannelli (L), Pinali 0, Rossini (L), Kaliberda 1. N.E. Truocchio, Estrada Mazorra, Bossi, Salsi. All. Giani. ARBITRI: Zavater, Rapisarda. NOTE – durata set: 28′, 35′, 30′, 29′, 20′; tot: 142′. Spettatori 3.960. Incasso 62.192 euro. MVP Leon

Supercoppa Italiana
1996 Alpitour Traco Cuneo
1997 Casa Modena Unibon
1998 Sisley Treviso
1999 TNT Alpitour Cuneo0
2000 Sisley Treviso
2001 Sisley Treviso
2002 Noicom Brebanca Cuneo
2003 Sisley Treviso
2004 Sisley Treviso
2005 Sisley Treviso
2006 Lube Banca Marche Macerata
2007 Sisley Treviso
2008 Lube Banca Marche Macerata
2009 CoprAtlantide Piacenza
2010 Bre Banca Lannutti Cuneo
2011 Itas Diatec Trentino
2012 Cucine Lube Banca Marche Macerata
2013 Diatec Trentino
2014 Cucine Lube Banca Marche Treia
2015 DHL Modena
2016 Azimut Modena
2017 Sir Safety Conad Perugia
2018 Azimut Leo Shoes Modena
2019 Sir Safety Conad Perugia